Black Cap Raspberries

Black cap raspberries are coming on in the back yard. My plans for this year is a Niagara Raspberry wine sort of in line with the fruit kits one can buy. I’m thinking a 3 gallon batch with 6 cans of white grape concentrate and 3 pounds of raspberries. Then once it’s done I’ll use steamed raspberry juice and sugar to make a syrup to sweeten to taste. Every wine I’ve ever made with these berries has come out with a cough syrup strong taste, so this year I’m going light up front with the berries and will try for the right balance in the end.

Update: Haven’t gotten around to the above, but did start a batch with Lime Juice and Raspberries along the line of the skeeter pee, dragons blood recipes. So far so good, letting it age a little before I finish sweetening.

I do have enough berries for the above recipe in the freezer, but that will have to wait until this winter. Deep into picking Blackberries, Peaches and Concord Grapes, seems they are all on the same time this year. Then it will be on to Apples and pressing cider for making hard cider.

About Shelly Belly Wine's

There is never enough wine!
This entry was posted in Fruit Wines and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment