Sarsaparilla Brew

Well it’s the middle of winter, a slow time for me, so I’m experimenting again.  I’ll call this a brew because it’s somewhere between a beer and a wine.  I started with 3+ gallons of tap water and added 4+ pounds of sugar to a specific gravity of 1.055.  I then added Fermax Yeast Nutrient.  To get to a pH of 3.4 I added 4 1/2 tsp of Acid Blend.  Next I added the flavor, Homebrew Sarsaparilla Extract, hoping for a 7% alcoholic Sarsaparilla summer time drink.  I sprinkled Lalvin EC-1118 yeast on top and covered with the lid.

I plan on back sweetening this with lactose non-ferment-able sugar, and carbonating with Cooper’s Carbonation Drops.

It should be interesting, I’ll let you know how it came out sometime this summer.

Update: Didn’t work, bad taste, over carbonation.  Couldn’t get it to sweeten up.  Had to dump before bottles exploded.  I’ll have to think about this one for awhile. 

About Shelly Belly Wine's

There is never enough wine!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment